16 February 2020

Hugh Grant replaces Sharon Stone as host of 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards

Hugh Grant has been announced as the new host for the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Simone Biles, Naomi Osaka and Megan Rapinoe have all been nominated for the Sportswoman of the Year award in what will be the 20th year anniversary of the event.

Love Actually star Grant replaces actress Sharon Stone, who has had to withdraw from hosting duties at the ceremony in the Verti Music Hall in Berlin on Monday, February 17.

Grant, who previously hosted the event in 2017, released a statement, saying: “The Laureus World Sports Awards is the pinnacle of sport, honouring the world’s greatest achievers and recognising sport’s ability to change lives for the better. 

"As a true sports fan, I’m excited to play my part on Monday evening as the greatest athletes past and present unite in Berlin to celebrate everything we love about sport.”

Biles has previously won the award in 2017 and 2019, while Osaka and Rapinoe have been nominated for the first time.

All nominees:

Sportswoman of the Year:

Simone Biles (USA) - gymnastics, Allyson Felix (USA) - athletics, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) - athletics, Naomi Osaka (Japan) - tennis, Megan Rapinoe (USA) - football, Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) - skiing

Sportsman of the Year:

Lewis Hamilton (GB) - Formula 1, Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) - athletics, Marc Marquez (Spain) - motor cycling, Lionel Messi (Argentina) - football, Rafael Nadal (Spain) - tennis, Tiger Woods (USA) - golf

Team of the Year:

Liverpool FC (GB) - football, Mercedes-AMG Petronas (Germany) - motor racing, South Africa men's rugby union team, Spain men's basketball team, Toronto Raptors (Canada) - basketball, United States women's football team

Breakthrough of the Year:

Bianca Andreescu (Canada) - tennis, Egan Bernal (Colombia) - cycling, Coco Gauff (USA) - tennis, Japan men's rugby union team, Andy Ruiz Jr (USA) - boxing, Regan Smith (USA) - swimming

Comeback of the Year:

Nathan Adrian (USA) - swimming, Sophia Florsch (Germany) - motor racing, Christian Lealiifano (Australia) - rugby union, Kawhi Leonard (USA) - basketball, Liverpool FC (GB) - football, Andy Murray (GB) - tennis

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability:

Omara Durand (Cuba) - athletics, Diede de Groot (Netherlands) - wheelchair tennis, Oksana Masters (USA) - skiing and cycling, Jetze Plat (Netherlands) - triathlon and cycling, Manuela Schar (Switzerland) - wheelchair athletics, Alice Tai (UK) - swimming

Action Sportsperson of the Year:

Italo Ferreira (Brazil) - surfing, Nyjah Huston (USA) - skateboarding, Chloe Kim (USA) - snowboarding, Rayssa Leal (Brazil) - skateboarding, Mark McMorris (Canada) - snowboarding, Carissa Moore (USA) - surfing

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox