28 July 2020

Suncorp Super Netball releases fixtures for first six rounds of 2020 season, starting on August 1

Suncorp Super Netball have released the fixtures for the first six rounds of the 2020 season that is due to begin on August 1. 

The season will start with a Queensland derby between the Queensland Firebirds and Sunshine Coast Lightning at Nissan Arena in Brisbane.

At the Ken Rosewall Arena in Sydney, West Coast Fever will take on the Giants, before the NSW Swifts play the Adelaide Thunderbirds the following day.

To end the first round Melbourne Vixens and Collingwood Magpies will go head-to-head at the Nissan Arena. 

The season was meant to begin in May but was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

Suncorp Super Netball CEO Chris Symington said: "Travel restrictions around the country have presented some substantial challenges in planning the schedule for the 2020 season.

"We've worked closely with government and key competition stakeholders to lock in the first six weeks of action and we look forward to commencing what is going to be an enormous 14 rounds of netball.

“We understand clubs and fans would like confirmation on the entire fixture, however given the constantly-evolving COVID-19 situation we're all facing, the league will confirm the 2020 fixture in phases to ensure the competition can remain flexible to cater for changing border restrictions as they occur.”

Despite the first six rounds of fixtures being released, the next phase is expected to be confirmed in mid-August. 

The best videos delivered daily

Watch the stories that matter, right from your inbox